[LABO] Unboxing ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4

0
519

It was today at 6:20 pm that Intel officially announced the arrival of its 13th generation processor range. You can find all the information in this news. In addition to the Raptor Lake processors, Intel has announced the arrival of the new Z790 chipset, and good news is that we have just received a copy of the ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 motherboard. No tests for the moment since the NDA is still running but a presentation of this model.

The bundle of this Z790-A D4:

A little tour through the bundle of this ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 to see if it benefits from “special items”. Overall, we find a fairly standard bundle with the traditional SATA cables, Wi-Fi antenna, stickers, motherboard manual, etc. The only goodies that stand out a little is the presence of a goody bag. The only goodies that stand out from the crowd is the presence of a black and white ROG key ring.

Architecture:

This ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 is built around the new Z790 chipset, which is an evolution of the Z690 and will keep the LGA-1700 socket. This is good news because this Z790-A will be backwards compatible. It will therefore be able to accommodate 12th generation Intel processors. Conversely, the Z690-A will be compatible with future 13th generation processors.

The Z790 chipset obviously supports PCIe 5.0, although no components are currently compatible with this standard. The first SSDs should arrive soon. Intel will still keep DDR4 support on this chipset but certainly for the last time. The final migration to DDR5 is planned for the next generation (2024).

The various heat sinks:

The dimensions of the board are 305 mm x 244 mm, which corresponds to the ATX format. The dominant colors on the PCB are grey and white. The design is easily identifiable since it uses the usual codes of the brand on this series. It also has a resemblance with the Strix Z690-A D4 of the previous generation.

Let’s start the owner’s tour with the radiators, of which there are three! First of all, the two radiators located on the top of the motherboard and which cover the power supply stage. These two radiators are independent and are not connected together by a heat pipe. The plastic cover, with a very very light RGB backlight. We are here on a completely passive system.

The third covers the chipset and has a large surface but low height to allow easy placement of graphics cards. We find a series of small ROG logo and the name of the Strix series.

No less than 4 SSD slots:

Three gray aluminum plates whose cutouts match perfectly with the one on the chipset, cover the four M.2 SSD slots on the PCB. This gives you a very large storage area. All four slots are wired in PCIe Gen4.

Only the first SSD has a thermal pad to optimize dissipation on both sides. Do not forget to remove the protective plastic film before installing your SSD. Asus offers on this model the “Q-Latch” quick release. No more need to fix a screw, you just have to rotate the latch to lock the SSD.

RELATED STORY
Frost Tower 120 : another dual tower fan unit from Thermalright

The socket and PCIe :

The space around the socket is pretty clear and it comes with LGA-1200 and LGA-1700 mounting holes. This ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 can accommodate a maximum of four DDR4 memory sticks. It supports dual channel memory kits up to 5333 MHz (OC) and a maximum of 128 GB.

There is a PCIe 5.0 x16 slot, two PCIe x16 4.0 and a PCIe x1 3.0. To power all this little world, the card has a 24-pin connector and two 8-pin located next to the power stages.

You will also have noticed a button called Q-Release. When a card is plugged into the first PCIe slot , pressing this button opens the retention system and releases your graphics card. Simple and effective.

The tools for clocking:

Let’s start with the elements inserted on the PCB which can be interesting tools for overclockers. There are very few of them since this board is intended for the mid-range.

  • The CMOS CLR: allows you to erase the BIOS settings in order to return to the default ones.
  • The Q LED : 4 diodes (CPU – DRAM – VGA – BOOT) which allow to diagnose the errors during the boot of the card. If one of them stays on, it means that the corresponding component has a problem.

We really would have liked to have a physical power button. Out-of-box testing always forces us to fiddle with a power button.

The PCB of this ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4:

Our ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 is equipped with the Renesas RAA 229131 controller that we have already found on other Asus Z690 cards, including the APEX. It is based on a 16 + 1 phase power supply. The part in charge of the CPU is composed of 16 phases and on this model, no doubler, but beware the phases are placed in parallel, so they are really 8. 16 mosfets of the vcore are Onsemi FDMF5062 of 70A.

The architected version had 80A mosfets. Did Asus decide to save money on this model by opting for 70A? Our test will tell us if this has an impact on overclocking or not.

Connectivity:

Let’s finish the presentation of this ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 with the connectors present at the back. First of all the Clear CMOS, the BIOS Flashback button as well as the antenna mounts for the dual band Wi-Fi. The card has an HDMI port and a DisplayPort. There are also two USB 2.0, five USB 3.2 Gen 1, one USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A and two USB Gen 2 and Gen 2×2 Type-C. Then come the various audio outputs and the Ethernet port (RJ45) 2.5 Gb.

See you in a few weeks for the complete test of this motherboard. No information yet on the price level but know that the Z690-A D4 version is still available for 373.87 euros. The members of our Discord reminded me that this is one of the two best boards for DDR4 memory overclocking.

[LABO] Unboxing ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4

0

C’est aujourd’hui à 18h20 qu’Intel a officiellement annoncé l’arrivée de sa gamme de processeurs de 13ème génération. Vous pouvez d’ailleurs retrouver toutes les informations dans cette brève. En plus des processeurs Raptor Lake, Intel annonce l’arrivée du nouveau chipset Z790. Et bonne nouvelle puisque nous venons de réceptionner un exemplaire de la carte mère ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4. Point de tests pour le moment puisque le NDA court toujours mais une présentation de ce modèle.

 

Le bundle de cette Z790-A D4 :

Un petit tour par le bundle de cette ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 afin de voir si celle-ci bénéficie « d’objets particuliers ». Globalement, on retrouve un bundle assez standard avec les traditionnels câbles SATA, l’antenne Wi-Fi, des stickers, le manuel de la carte mère, etc. Le seul goodies qui sort un peu du lot est la présence d’un porte clé ROG noir et blanc.

 

L’architecture :

Cette ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 est architecturée autour du nouveau chipset Z790. Celui-ci est une évolution du Z690 et conservera notamment le socket LGA-1700. C’est une bonne nouvelle puisque cette Z790-A sera rétro-compatible. Elle pourra donc accueillir les processeurs Intel de 12ème génération. Inversement, la Z690-A sera compatible avec les futurs processeurs de 13ème génération.

Le chipset Z790 prend évidement en charge le PCIe 5.0 bien qu’actuellement aucun composant n’est encore compatible avec cette norme. Les premiers SSD devraient bientôt débarquer. Intel conservera encore sur ce chipset le support de la DDR4 mais certainement pour la dernière fois. La migration définitive vers la DDR5 est prévue sur la génération prochaine (2024).

 

Les différents radiateurs :

Les dimensions de la carte sont de 305 mm x 244 mm, ce qui correspond au format ATX. Les couleurs dominantes sur le PCB sont le gris et le blanc. Le design est facilement identifiable puisqu’elle reprend les codes habituels de la marque sur cette série. Elle a d’ailleurs un air de ressemblance avec la Strix Z690-A D4 de la génération précédente.

Débutons le tour du propriétaire avec les radiateurs qui sont au nombre de trois !
Tout d’abord, les deux radiateurs situés sur le dessus de la carte mère et qui recouvrent l’étage d’alimentation. Ces deux radiateurs sont indépendants et ne sont donc pas reliés ensemble par un caloduc. Le cache plastique, disposant d’un très très léger rétro-éclairage RGB. Nous sommes ici sur un système entièrement passif.

Le troisième recouvre le chipset et bénéficie d’une surface assez importante mais de faible hauteur afin de permettre facilement la mise en place des cartes graphiques. On y retrouve une série de petit logo ROG ainsi que la nom de la série Strix.

 

Pas moins de 4 emplacements SSD :

Trois plaques en aluminium gris dont les découpes viennent parfaitement s’associer avec celle posée sur le chipset, recouvre les quatre emplacements SSD de type M.2 au niveau du PCB. Vous aurez ainsi la possibilité de bénéficier d’une zone de stockage très importante. Les quatre emplacements sont câblés en PCIe Gen4.

Seul le premier SSD bénéficie d’un pad thermique chargé d’optimiser la dissipation sur les deux faces. N’oubliez pas d’ôter le film plastique de protection avant d’installer votre SSD. Asus propose sur ce modèle la fixation rapide « Q-Latch ». Plus besoin de venir fixer une vis, il vous suffit de faire pivoter le loquet afin de verrouiller le SSD.

Pour aller plus loin :
Test : Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000 MT/S CL30 EXPO

 

Le socket et les PCIe :

L’espace autour du socket est assez bien dégagé et elle se voit dotée des trous de fixation LGA-1200 et LGA-1700. Cette ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 peut accueillir au maximum quatre barrettes mémoires de DDR4. Elle supporte les kits mémoires en dual channel jusque 5333 MHz (OC) et pour une quantité maximal de 128 GB.

On retrouve un emplacement x16 PCIe 5.0, deux PCIe x16 4.0 et un PCIe x1 3.0. Pour alimenter tout ce petit monde, la carte dispose d’un connecteur 24-pins et de deux 8-pins situé à côté des étages d’alimentation.

Vous aurez aussi repéré la présence d’un bouton nommé Q-Release. Lorsqu’une carte est enfourchée dans le premier port PCIe, la pression sur ce bouton, ouvre le système de rétention et libère votre carte graphique. Simple et efficace.

 

Les outils pour clocker :

Débutons avec les éléments insérés sur le PCB et qui peuvent s’avérer être des outils intéressants pour les overclockeurs. Ils sont très peu nombreux puisque cette carte se destine au milieu de gamme.

  • Le CLR CMOS : permet d’effacer les paramètres du BIOS afin de revenir à ceux par défaut.
  • Le Q LED : 4 diodes (CPU – DRAM – VGA – BOOT) qui permettent de diagnostiquer les erreurs lors du boot de la carte. Si l’une d’entre elles reste allumée, c’est que le composant qui lui correspond pose problème.

Nous aurions vraiment voulu avoir un bouton physique de mise sous tension. Les tests hors boitier nous obligent toujours à bidouiller un bouton de démarrage.

 

Le PCB de cette ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 :

Notre ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 est équipée du contrôleur Renesas RAA 229131 que nous avons déjà retrouvé sur d’autres cartes Asus Z690 dont notamment l’APEX. Elle se base sur une alimentation en 16 + 1 phases. La partie en charge du CPU se compose de 16 phases et sur ce modèle, aucun doubleur, mais attention les phases sont placées en parallèles, elles sont donc réellement au nombre de 8. Les 16 mosfets du vcore sont des Onsemi FDMF5062 de 70A.

La version architecturée disposait de mosfets de 80A. Est-ce qu’Asus a décidé de faire des économies sur ce modèle en optant pour des 70A ? Notre test nous dira si cela a un impact sur l’overclocking ou non.

 

Les connectiques :

Terminons la présentation de cette ROG Strix Z790-A Gaming Wifi D4 par les connectiques présentes à l’arrière. Tout d’abord le Clear CMOS, le bouton BIOS Flashback ainsi que les supports d’antennes pour le Wi-Fi dual band. La carte dispose d’un port HDMI et d’un DisplayPort. On retrouve aussi de deux USB 2.0, de cinq USB 3.2 Gen 1, d’un USB 3.2 Gen 2 Type-A et de deux USB Gen 2 et Gen 2×2 Type-C. Viennent ensuite les différentes sorties audio et le port Ethernet(RJ45) 2.5 Gb.

Rendez-vous dans quelques semaines pour le test complet de cette carte mère. Pas encore d’informations niveau tarif mais sachez que la version Z690-A D4 est toujours disponible au tarif de 373,87 euros. Les membres de notre Discord me rappelaient d’ailleurs qu’il s’agit d’une des deux meilleures cartes pour l’overclocking mémoire de la DDR4.

S’abonner
Notifier de
guest

0 Commentaires
Inline Feedbacks
Voir tous les commentaires